Sorry

Sorry
Sorry

The 26th of May is Sorry Day, a national day in Australia acknowledging the mistreatment of the nations indigenous people since the European invasion and settlement. We have a black history that needs to be remembered.

 

This video clip from the National Film & Sound Archive is indicative of the treatment aboriginal people received through out Australia in the late 1800's and early 20th century. I have always been moved by photographs I've seen from this period of aboriginal men in chains. aware that many of them were freedom fighters, fighting for their land and people. I would have done the same.

 

As a white Australian I can only imagine the pain and grief of these, the country's first inhabitants, with the loss of their land, freedom and culture. It is this pain and grief that I have tried to capture in this painting.

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0