Post Exhibition thoughts

Border Sentinal
Border Sentinal

Previously I talked about a different approach I was trialling for an exhibition. Here are my thoughts on the exhibition and what I learned in the process.

 

The idea was one I just had to try.

 

The opening went well, although the number of people attending was less than I had hoped for. The venue I chose, ideal in so many ways, is an hour out of the city. I believe that proved to be too far for some people. Lesson number one.

 

The short time frame was right and I enjoyed the week as artist in residence while the exhibition was hanging. It generated a lot of interest and some sales.

 

Half the paintings sold, all of them for prices well above the reserve price. A big thankyou to everyone who came to the exhibition and especially those who participated in the bidding.

 

I am happy with the results and experience gained in staging this exhibition, but I think this approach maybe a strategy best suited for artists at the start of their career, a way to begin building a data base and gather contact details of people interested in their art, not such a good idea for mid career or established artists.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0